Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Replacing my pedals

  1. #1
    Chris JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Yellow Springs, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    19,505

    Default Replacing my pedals

    Backstory: a flood may have toasted all my pedals. Because were going to regrade the yard and add more drainage, I probably wont be able to afford replacing them all.

    Im thinking about a couple options. First, my must haves are wah, Drive, and delay. I can probably swing a Crybaby bass wah, a halfway decent preamp, and a decent delay. Im also considering going back to a multi. Probably Boss or Line 6, or even a Xoom B3n, which all the bass dudes love. Itd cover a ton of ground, be fine for my needs (home use only) and easy to keep off the floor when not in use.

    Also considering going virtual. I could get an inexpensive laptop and a good effects suite for the same price as any of the above options.

    What say ye?

  2. #2
    Super Toneologist Jack_TriPpEr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The Regal Beagle in Hippie Hell
    Posts
    1,323

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by JB_From_Hell View Post
    Backstory: a flood may have toasted all my pedals. Because we’re going to regrade the yard and add more drainage, I probably won’t be able to afford replacing them all.

    I’m thinking about a couple options. First, my must haves are wah, Drive, and delay. I can probably swing a Crybaby bass wah, a halfway decent preamp, and a decent delay. I’m also considering going back to a multi. Probably Boss or Line 6, or even a Xoom B3n, which all the bass dudes love. It’d cover a ton of ground, be fine for my needs (home use only) and easy to keep off the floor when not in use.

    Also considering going virtual. I could get an inexpensive laptop and a good effects suite for the same price as any of the above options.

    What say ye?
    So you need FX only, i.e. no amp modeling?
    Quote Originally Posted by GuitarDoc View Post
    Good diagram Shadowfire90, but it isn't what the OP wants.

  3. #3
    mild old man perv Aceman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    I came from outer space - that's how I know your name!
    Age
    53
    Posts
    36,173

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    Digitech BP50
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

  4. #4
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    25,918

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    I have to say, a Line 6 M9 or HX Effects is a wonderful thing. A lot of what you need can be had in a small package there, for guitar or bass.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  5. #5
    Chris JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Yellow Springs, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    19,505

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_TriPpEr View Post
    So you need FX only, i.e. no amp modeling?
    Correct. I’m not opposed to modeling, but my Rumble 60 was thankfully sitting on top of another cabinet and didn’t get wet.

  6. #6
    Member BaritoneVitoND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    Really sorry to hear about your flood damage. I'd probably also recommend one of those Line 6 units since they'll have all the effects you need and more. They are pretty affordable and could be cheaper than rebuying all of the things you're trying to replace.

    I have a Line 6 Pod X3 Live that I used to use a lot and it's great as well. It can even be used as an audio interface so you can record direct with it. It might be another option for you if you're looking at recording as well.

  7. #7
    Super Toneologist
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    in a box X_x
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    There is a possibility that your pedals might have survived. I would suggest taking the backplate off & letting them all dry off for a week, it would be even better if the whole insides could removed & kept aside for drying. If ya lucky then some or all of them might work & old need new pots. This is considering you didn't try to power them a few hours after they got soaked.

    The laptop & software setup works for recording purposes but live monitoring can have lagging issues. Any of the modern cheap modelers of today could work for practicing at home or even recording.

  8. #8
    Chris JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Yellow Springs, Ohio
    Age
    40
    Posts
    19,505

    Default Re: Replacing my pedals

    They're all sitting opened up on my dining table. My work deemed itself an essential business, so I'll be way too busy to worry about hurrying to plug anything back in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •