Compressor comparison

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compressor comparison

I'm still learning how to use compressors. My Keeley seems to work the dynamics from both ends, squishing the peaks and raising the valleys. I'm guessing that's makeup gain? But the mooer only seems to tame the peaks. I don't get any increase in volume when I pick softly. Even with the comp knob maxed out I can't really crank the volume without going over unity gain. Is that due to the compression ratio or am I missing something?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
    --------------------------------------------------------
    1973 Aria 551
    1984 Larrivee RS-4 w/ EMG SA/SA/89
    1989 Charvel 750 XL w/ DMZ Tone Zone & Air Norton
    1990's noname crap-o-caster plywood P/J Bass
    1991 Heartfield Elan III w/ DMZ mystery pups
    1995 Aria Pro II TA-65
    2001 Gibson Les Paul Gothic w/ PG-1 & SH-8

Re: Compressor comparison

#notmykeeley - What version is that?

Also - what is the Keeley modeled on? That may explain it.
    Originally posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

Comment

Originally posted by Aceman View Post
      #notmykeeley - What version is that?

Also - what is the Keeley modeled on? That may explain it.
      Uuuh, the latest one, I guess? That's the Comp Plus. Far as I know, they've been selling this version since 2017. Previously they had the silver colored 4 knob.

Based on the Ross compressor. Which according to what I've read was a copy of the MXR Dynacomp.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
      Last edited by Coma; 04-05-2020, 02:49 PM.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      1973 Aria 551
      1984 Larrivee RS-4 w/ EMG SA/SA/89
      1989 Charvel 750 XL w/ DMZ Tone Zone & Air Norton
      1990's noname crap-o-caster plywood P/J Bass
      1991 Heartfield Elan III w/ DMZ mystery pups
      1995 Aria Pro II TA-65