That one piece of gear....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That one piece of gear....

What’s the one piece of gear (besides a guitar, amp, or pedal) that you’ve bought that you either cherish a lot or it really changed your playing, tone etc that you now cannot live without?

Re: That one piece of gear....

Flatwound strings (on my tele).

Comment

A bass.

Once I started playing bass, I learned to pay a lot more attention to when my notes end.

Comment

Recently, I would say the Perpetual Burn humbucker. About 10 years ago or so, the Screamin' Demon humbucker. While I had a lot of other pieces in place, once I started using both of those, I noticed a very pleasing change to my tone and I was able to have better control over my playing.

Comment

I started using DiMarzio 500K Volume Pots and Fender TBX Tone Pots...really took away the unwanted noise and made my guitars sound bigger and cleaner/clearer while giving me more control over the tone via the TBX.
          MuttznMongrelz

1983 Kramer Pacer Imperial
          1983 Kramer Pacer Deluxe
          1988 Kramer Nightswan
          1989 Charvel Sambora
          2016 Warmoth Hellacaster
          Boogie Private Reserve Lone Star Combo
          Rivera Hundred Duo Twelve

sigpic

Comment

Note stand.
            --------------------------------------------------------
            1973 Aria 551
            1984 Larrivee RS-4 w/ EMG SA/SA/89
            1989 Charvel 750 XL w/ DMZ Tone Zone & Air Norton
            1990's noname crap-o-caster plywood P/J Bass
            1991 Heartfield Elan III w/ DMZ mystery pups
            1995 Aria Pro II TA-65
            2001 Gibson Les Paul Gothic w/ PG-1 & SH-8

Comment

Dunlop Max Grip Nylon picks, decent straplocks and Elixir coated strings (because I really have acidic sweat that kills regular strings hyper fast) are a must have for me.

I am also really fond of my Dunlop Lucky 13 straps, cheesy but true!