banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hum/Buzz position 2, 3 and 4…grounding , shielding or wiring issue?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hum/Buzz position 2, 3 and 4…grounding , shielding or wiring issue?

Hi everyone, I need you expertise on this issue that I have.

Current issue: When I am selecting the guitar in position 2, 3 or 4 I get a loud background hum/hiss/buzz noise. Poistion 1 and 5 so teh humbuckers are very quiet. Here is how I got here.

Context: I have a HSH guitar type with 1 Volume, 1 Tone and 5 Way Switch and a floyd rose tremelo. I have replaced my two humbuckers with single-conductor/single wire Seymour Duncan humbuckers (the Slash’s ones). I also changed all the components (added very expensive ones):
    - 2 new Dunlop“ Super pots“ (500K audio taper)
    - 5 way Dimarzio blade switch
    - Capacitor TAD cap orange 22nf

Wiring diagram: Since I have never done this before, I used seymour duncan’s wiring diagram available on the website. The one with 1 single-coil Hum, 1 single coil, 1 single-coil HUM, 1 volume, 1 tone and 5 way blade (see attachment).

Here are chronologically the issues:

Issue 1: I have noticed that when I was strumming, there was some crackling noise. There was no hum or buzz in standby mode or when I was touching the guitar’s components.
    After checking everything (with multimeter) I thought I found the issue: I didn't ground the tone pot. But I didn’t do since there was no grounding indicated on Duncan’s wire diagram. So I decided to ground the tone pot to the volume pot via a wire.

Issue 2: After grounding the tone pot the crackling noise was gone but a new issue appeared a buzz noise which was increasing when I was touching the tone pot and the tone pot only. So after re-checking everything I have noticed that when touching the cavity (the conductive paints) of the guitar the buzz was getting louder. So I put copper tape. I didn’t put copper tape in the jack cavity.