Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12-56 Strings in Standard E tuning?

Hi,

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to guitars (I'd say advanced beginner?)

I ordered 12-56 Strings in order to have a go at playing some Cannible corpse (with A# tuning) and as I like to play songs ina variety of tunings, mostly being D# Standard and E standard. Its kind brutal ik to tune down to A# for a bit then go back up to E.

Is it possible to tune 12-56s in Standard E? (6 string guitar)

This is what i ordered:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	rotosound-silvers-12-56-nickel-electric-guitar-strings-p12243-24527_image.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	5854500

Re: 12-56 Strings in Standard E tuning?

Yes. But what guitar?

You will want something you know is built well. My comment here is the bigger issue that going from C# to E will play havoc with the truss. Thus again, you want a well made guitar. Not a task for a Jackson JS32 or a cheap Schecter - well made as they are. Long term compression/flexing of the neck might cause fret issues and who knows what else.

My suggestion here, purely for convenience: Digitech Drop, EHX Pitchfork, or Mooer Pitchbox. Set the guitar up for say D, and you should be able to do C# no problem. But if you want D# or E, just hit the pedal.

Guitars these days are kinda built for 9/10's with E tuning as a max. Not saying they can't and don't endure 11's or even 12's. Just saying that's a lot of tension, and a lot of change. Just not the greatest idea. YMMV.

Easier on the guitar, and way faster for you.
    Originally posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

Comment

12s in standard E? I’d only try that on a short 3/4 scale guitar. Just keep it tuned down and use a capo for E.

That’s huge leap to try and get out of one guitar though. I would just get a cheap second and upgrade the pickups for whichever key you won’t use very often.

Comment