Height of vibrato bridge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Height of vibrato bridge

Can you damage the guitar if the vibrato bridge is that high?

Re: Height of vibrato bridge

Your link is fubar.
    aka Chris Pile, formerly of Six String Fever

Comment

no
      EHD
      Just here surfing Guitar Pron
      RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
      SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
      Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
      Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
      Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
      Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
      GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

Comment

I’ve had my strats like that before. It’s not a problem, won’t damage anything.

Comment

Originally posted by ICTGoober View Post
          Your link is fubar.
          Sorry about that. Here's another photo I found that resembles the height I'm talking about.

Comment

Does the Fender Strat vibrato bridge have to be aligned with the body of the guitar?

Comment

Originally posted by Wayne27 View Post
              Does the Fender Strat vibrato bridge have to be aligned with the body of the guitar?
              Old style - no

New style (two post): it should, for most purposes, be aligned with the fretboard, as a starting point. Fenders often have shims, so the fretboards aren't always perfectly parallel to the body. The only thing moving it changes is how dramatically the vibrato reacts when you use it. Lean the bridge back, and the vibrato reacts more slowly. Lean it forward, and it reacts more quickly. Parallel to the fretboard is the starting point medium.
              Originally posted by LesStrat
              Yogi Berra was correct.
              Originally posted by JOLLY
              I do a few chord things, some crappy lead stuff, and then some rhythm stuff.

Comment