banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does playing a 7-string make you worse at 6 string guitars?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does playing a 7-string make you worse at 6 string guitars?

Question is in the title. I'm considering getting a 7 string but I'm worried it'll make me worse at playing my 6 strings. I have no intention of becoming a 7 string only player, but there are plenty of times where I'd like to experiment with a lower range and extended chords.

I found some threads online but mostly on the seven string forum, which doesn't seem to be a useful sample.

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk

Does playing a 7-string make you worse at 6 string guitars?

I don’t own a seven string. But I do play both 5 and 4 string basses. For about 33 years I exclusively played 5 string basses. I had been playing 4 string bass for about 18 years.

This past month I started playing a 4 string Jazz bass tuned down to C#. Just made more sense than using the 5 string in this band. The guitarist is in low C#.

It took me a rehearsal or two to not feel disoriented (also the tuning), but I play both equally as well.

So I think if you spend time on both you will adjust just fine.

I also play guitar in another band (a three piece with a singer), so it’s a similar way to compartmentalize going from one instrument to another.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Re: Does playing a 7-string make you worse at 6 string guitars?

In my experience, it doesn't. I have one 7 string, and when I go back to 6, it feels like home. I feel I play just as well on a 6 string as I ever did (I'm not that great IMO). You may, however find yourself missing those couple of extra low notes occassionally, but that can be solved by just picking the 7 string up or by tuning down.

Comment