banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any Experience with ALL-Wenge, ALL-Rosewood, and/or Goncalo Alves Necks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Experience with ALL-Wenge, ALL-Rosewood, and/or Goncalo Alves Necks?

Does anyone here have experience with necks made out of Wenge, Goncalo Alves and/or Rosewood?

I have a lot of experience with your typical neck woods (mahogany, maple, sapele, ebony, etc.), but these 3 have escaped me. To be clear, I'm talking about the body/back of the neck or the neck as a whole, not just the fretboard.

I typically shy away from "tone wood" debates, but different neck materials have very different feels under the hands and substantially different characteristics in terms of resonance/transmission of vibrational energy. I know weight can vary a lot, as well.

Curious what people's impressions have been with these woods?

Re: Any Experience with ALL-Wenge, ALL-Rosewood, and/or Goncalo Alves Necks?

Yes! I have an all wenge neck with a ziricote fretboard and I truly love it! It has a very unique tone and it has a unique feel to it as well. Very musical wood imo. Wenge has a very defined low end, great sustain and I would say it is an overall balanced tone that leans slightly warm but with musical articulation. It really vibrates in the hands... very cool guitar necks and great for bass necks too. I have a few YouTube videos of me playing my guitar with a wenge neck outdoors at a Greek art show in 2015, I am using a clean tone with Duncan Jazz pups, so you can kinda hear it. However, it was recorded using an old cell phone, so the audio quality is poor (plus I was overweight at the time so I do not like sharing it often, haha)... but I am happy to share it if you want to hear it.

I also have an all Indian rosewood neck, including the fretboard. I love all rosewood necks. Expect rosewood tone with a silky smooth feel in your hand. Similar to mahogany necks with rosewood boards imo.
    Soundcloud