Help with a Puresalem reverberation pickups change

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with a Puresalem reverberation pickups change

Hello, i am a newbie in the changing pickups game. I hope someone can help me. First, i have a Puresalem reverberation, like the one below. Single Coil on the bridge, humbucker on the neck, one tone, one volume knot, floating bridge.

Click image for larger version

Name:	reverberation.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	5854748

I just got a 59 model humbucker with the C shielded cable for the neck, and want to get either the little 59 for tele or the little 59 for strat for the bridge, but i dont know which one to choose, i just want a balanced sound, nothing fancy, just want them to play along nice together. Any suggestions which would be better suited for my guitar?

Another question. I want to split-coil the little 59 (whichever one i get), would there be a problem that the neck humbucker can't be split? How would the wiring should be done?

Thanks in advance

Re: Help with a Puresalem reverberation pickups change

Welcome to the forum!

It looks like the guitar has a Tele mount, so that would be my guess...Little 59 for Tele. If the 59 you already have can be split, it would need a 4 conductor cable, and most don't come with that..they come with a braided shield with the hot wire inside. You can get someone (even SD ) to change it to a 4 conductor wire if you need it. As far as splitting the Little 59...you might find that it sounds better in parallel, which keeps its hum-cancelling. To me, the Little Humbuckers don't do such a great job split, but really shine in parallel, but you might try. All you'd need is a push/pull pot for either. Cool guitar!
    Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Cool looking guitar. Kind of like Keith's Tele.

I'd be careful that the 59 neck pickup doesn't overpower the bridge pickup.