question about tube amps...don't laugh at me. lol

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about tube amps...don't laugh at me. lol

i've been playing for three years and since i am 14 an only work at publix, i don't own an all tube amp (just an avt which has one ecc34 and solid state)
    when i get enough money i would like to get a marshall half stack either a jubilee off ebay or a 59 reissue or 50 watt dsl. but my question is how often do tubes "crap out"? and when this happens the tube must be replaced, right?i'm guessing its like a light bulb. haha. and how much do tubes cost to replace? and how do you know if an amp has crapped out, sound, appearance of tubes? answering these questions would help alot. and also i recently learned that amps like the 59 reissue don't have preamps, which means it doesn't have built in distortion, and that means you have to crank the volume, right? so if you were playing in your bedroom this amp would be worthless for distortion, correct me if i'm wrong. so you would have to use a pedal while using this amp. and if you would like to recommend any other amps (preferably marshall or good tube amp, not to expensive) that would be awesome. o ya one more question, would buying a good used amp be ok because the money i can save th better. sorry for asking so many freakin questions just answer the ones you want. thanks alot

Re: question about tube amps...don't laugh at me. lol

The only real way to tell if tubes are going bad is to replace them to see if you can hear a difference. Since tubes deterorate at a slow rate, the more you play, the more you become accustomed to it, and the harder it is to tell.
    This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections. - St. Augustine of Hippo

Comment