Forget Modes - Advice That Set Me Free

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forget Modes - Advice That Set Me Free

I have just enough knowledge and experience to know that I started out wrong. I am no expert. I still have a lot to learn. But, here's my brief story of getting started in trying to learn music theory on my own.

About 18 months ago I bought a new guitar. It’s my first guitar since selling off all my stuff 16 years ago. I knew the most basic stuff about music. I knew the notes of the musical staff. I knew the difference between a sharp and a flat. I knew crescendo and decrescendo and what an arpeggio is. I remembered some boxes for learning scales. When I was younger I just wanted to learn how to play songs. I took lessons and then got to the point where I could figure out most AC/DC songs by ear. I still needed to have someone show me the lead parts. I couldn’t figure those out. And I guess I was too impatient to take learning music theory very seriously.