Best Modeling Combo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Modeling Combo?

I hit the GC this past weekend and got to try out several for the fun of it and started to come up with some opinions. I wondered what the concensus was.
    Roland Cube
    9.09%
    Line 6 Spider
    6.82%
    Vox Valvetronix
    34.09%
    Fender Mustang
    20.45%
    Peavey Vypyr
    2.27%
    Other
    11.36%
    They are all crap! / Rob Option
    15.91%

Re: Best Modeling Combo?

I've only tried the Line 6 and Vox. Both are good, but the Valvetronix sounds better to my ears. Some modeling amps are too processed sounding, but the vox sounds more natural to me.
    "Hello! My name is Inigo Montoya! You killed my father. Prepare to die!"

Comment

IMO, it's the Vox, hands down. I've been using an AD50VT since 2006 and gig with it all the time. No issues other than replacing the tube once or twice. Just did a speaker swap not long ago for the heck of it. It has a Celestion CL80 in there now. Sounds even better.

A close second for me would be the Roland Cube.
      Last edited by ErikH; 06-11-2012, 10:01 AM.

Comment

I love my Vox VT40+, it's small, loud, and most of all sounds great! I will throw some props to the Roland Cube amps, they sound great but for me it's Vox Vox Vox!
        Epiphone Coronet w/ Paf-Pro and HS-2
        Yamaha Drop 6 w/EMG 81 and 85
        Fender Stratocaster w/ Lace Sensors R-S-B
        1968 Ovation Tornado Electric
        all rocking into a Vox AC-4TV
        viva la Vox!
        ShoogaGoogaGunga!

Comment

I will also say that I have heard good tones from the Peavey's but I just can't stand all the plastic all over the face of it. Looks like it's just waiting to break!
          Epiphone Coronet w/ Paf-Pro and HS-2
          Yamaha Drop 6 w/EMG 81 and 85
          Fender Stratocaster w/ Lace Sensors R-S-B
          1968 Ovation Tornado Electric
          all rocking into a Vox AC-4TV
          viva la Vox!
          ShoogaGoogaGunga!