Good rhythm distortion/OD pedal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good rhythm distortion/OD pedal

I am a rhythm guitarist by nature. I play through a Vox Valvetronix VT40+ currently using onboard effects.

I just want a nice, solid, thick rhythm sound basically. I really don't know much about the kind of terms people assign to this kind of topic so bare with me. Don't play much lead; I'll be mainly on the neck pickup.

I'm also not entirely sure on the sound difference between OD and distortion. I know Distortion is a clipping effect and that's about it. Thing is, when I hear the word "Distortion", I think of pedals like the DS-1 and want to cry. So hopefully someone can clarify.

I play Nirvana, Foo Fighters, G'N'R, a bit of RHCP here and there. But not looking to pinpoint any particular sound, just... rhythm! Kinda like, the opening riff to The Offspring - Pretty Fly, that's on the right lines.

I'm selling some stuff and have no idea how much money I will be raising so suggestions across the budget board are all welcome, probably be most likely in the <£100 range though.

Guitar - I'm changing soon, currently use a Yamaha RGX121Z and hate how the wood sounds. Hopefully if all goes to plan I'll be getting an RG550M and moving my Slash Alnico II Pro into the neck, Hotrails in the middle and Tonerider Generator into the bridge of the basswood body.

One of my main complaints for my sound is it sounds shrill and quite frankly hurts your ears getting into the higher volumes. Would an EQ help this?

Only pedals I have tried aside from onboard are a Line 6 Pod (lol oh dear, though it sounds pretty great on cleans to be fair to it) and a DS-1 both stock and JCM modded (the mod improved it no end but still not for me).

Thankyou!
    Last edited by spleenharvester; 06-20-2012, 02:00 PM.

Re: Good rhythm distortion/OD pedal

So, you are wanting to front a Vox Valvetronix with an OD pedal?