Only getting clean tone with Champ

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Only getting clean tone with Champ

I am a beginner guitar player. I recently bought a Silverface Champ and am wondering if anyone can give me any advice. I am mostly interested in playing blues and some rock. I wasn't expecting to get a huge amount of breakup with the Champ, but have watched Youtube clips in which people would get I guess you'd call classic rock tones with them. I haven't been able to get any moderate blues overdrive with the amp. I've tried turning it all the way up, all pickup positions, volume up and down on the guitar, it's all pretty much the clean. Maybe the tone changes a little when it's dimed but not that much. The clean sounds beautiful to me, but I thought there would be a little more range in tones I could get from it, particularly a bluesy sound.

Re: Only getting clean tone with Champ

Could be a tube issue?
    Originally posted by Brown Note
    I'm soooooo jealous about the WR-1. It's the perfect guitar; fantastic to play, balances well even when seated and *great* reach for the upper frets. The sound is bright tight and very articulate. In summary it could only be more awesome if it had b00bs and was on fire!
    My Blog

Comment

What guitar, pickups and pedals? And which input?
      Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

Originally posted by DrNewcenstein View Post
        Could be a tube issue?
        Cool, so would you be inclined to think it is not just a normal variation in sound from amp to amp--that it should break up at a certain point? That's what I was wondering. I found an amp technician in my area, I guess it would be best to bring it in.

Comment

Originally posted by PFDarkside View Post
          What guitar, pickups and pedals? And which input?