Instrument cable to connect head to cab

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Instrument cable to connect head to cab

Hello everyone, i feel like the dumbest person on earth, i just discovered that you shouldnt connect your head to cab with an instrument cable, i have been playing for almost 15 years and didnt knew it. Im buying some speaker cables on Amazon right now.

The thing is, is it possible that my amps are already damaged for being using them like that? Ive never heard any wrong sound or any failure that i could recognize from any of them. At least thats what i think.

Re: Instrument cable to connect head to cab

Possibly.

Get a short (5' or less) two conductor cable, preferably 12-gauge or bigger. (The bigger the number, the smaller the wire. You want FAT wires! I never use less than 14-gauge for my amps or PA cabs.)

Oh...you know this applies to your PA cabs too, right? Two- conductor speaker cable. Unless you have power speakers....etc.

You don't have to spend a lot. I like the Live Wires and Live Wires Elite cables from GC. Bob at Eurotubes has some great cables, as does Andy at Pro Guitar Shop. Monster, RAPCO, Pig Hog...lots to choose from. But buy HIGH QUALITY cables, and baby them. NEVER, NEVER disconnect by yanking on the cord! Always pull on the plug. Yanking on the wire can short your cable...and then you WILL have an expensive repair bill.

In a pinch, you can use standard lamp cord, commonly referred to as zip cord. It usually comes in 18 or 16 gauge. I once needed a speaker cord...in a hurry. I was playing in a small town, it was late, and the only shop open was a vacuum cleaner shop. I bought a replacement vacuum cord, and got it soldered up with five minutes to spare. Whew!

The good news...with a proper speaker cord, your amp may sound better than ever!

Good luck!

Bill

And congrats...you are no longer the dumbest person on earth! Yea!

We all went through learning this stuff. Enjoy the journey!

Bill