Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp options RACK DOWNGRADE

Hi guys,

so i have a rack and like most rack guys im sick of how heavy it is, especially as i dont have any rack FX, its far too powerful and personally i feel like my pedalboard into a clean amp is both more versatile AND sounds better.

I have no money so im gonna trade it for something.

Currently i have an engl e530 into a marshall 100/100 with 2 tubes pulled on the B side which go into a 2X12 (not getting rid of it)

if i can hold on to the engl then thats awesome but if not i wont cry over it

What would be a good swap?

im thinking single/duel channel head with a decent amount of head room, all the gigs i play are normally miced but it needs to be powerfull enough to cut through a small venue just in case but small enough to sound good at low stage volume
    i play pretty much anything and quite regularly (im a music student in various style bands ranging from metal, jazz, funk, ska, indie and generic covers)

Re: Amp options RACK DOWNGRADE

If you like the sound of your pedalboard into a clean amp, you could get something like a SD Powerstage and forego the traditional amp head altogether?

Comment

i like the look of a meaty back line, also some sort of preamp is nice for cleans

Comment

If you want to use pedals into a clean amp it's hard to beat a Fender Deluxe or Twin.

And, since Fenders are a standard backline amp if your pedals are dialled in to sound good into Fenders you're golden.
        || Guitar | Wah | Vibe | Amp ||

Comment

Originally posted by ToastyMagician View Post
          i like the look of a meaty back line, also some sort of preamp is nice for cleans
          Pedal preamp and dummy stacks?
          Last edited by Sirion; 12-02-2017, 01:23 AM.

Comment

ehh, i know it would work and probably sound good but that kind of thing just isnt my style, im really only looking for a head

Comment