banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Running 2x12" instead of 1x12". How does the amp handle it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running 2x12" instead of 1x12". How does the amp handle it?

I ordered a 1x12" extension cab for my Blackstar Ht-20mkII (1x12") combo yesterday.

(Decided I had to invest my last savings, before I start on this horrible "government debt payment plan" that will make me, well, ruined for 5 years to come.)

... My question /thougts are:

My amp is 20, 2xel84 watts. Nice and loud enough, trough the built in 1x12" speaker.

When I get my extension cab, and then connect it (aswell as the onboard speaker) into the dedicated 8-ohm speaker outputs- (or how it is.)

-Will the amplifier "work harder" to drive two speakers, and sound/react different- than if just running a single one?

I'm no expert , just a novice, so sorry if my questions are "stupid".

I'm imagining a car, with a "20 bhp" engine- now having to power "double the weight" :o

Is it so? Will I experience, like- less headroom?

thanks for any answer.

-Erlend
    If somethings important- send a PM. I might be offline for long periods. Rock on!!!

Re: Running 2x12" instead of 1x12". How does the amp handle it?

As long as your ohms are correct from the amp to the extension speaker, you should be fine, I believe.
    1994 Ibanez IC500 Iceman reissue
    Jackson Soloist 7 string
    ESP LTD M-400
    Original Marshall Silver Jubilee 2553

Comment

You need to know the impedance of your speaker cabinet and then set your amp to match that impedance.

If your new cab has two 8 ohm speakers connected in parallel, the impedance is half of 8 ohms: 4 ohms.

If your new cab has two 16 ohm speakers connected in parallel, the impedance is half of 16 ohms: 8 ohms.

Figure it out.
      “Practice cures most tone issues” - John Suhr

Comment