X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tech 21 Trademark 60 vs Roland Cube 60

hi, which is the best amp of these two?

i want tone and flexibility.

Which one has the best "Metal" sound too? I play a lot of thrash, death metal type stuff. I am no good at it of course, i am still a beginner but still....i need my amp to be able to do metal.

thanks
    Michael Kelly Patriot Black w/Rockfield Fat Ass set
    Roland Microcube

Rotosound Strings

Shure SM57 mic
    Dunlop Jazz III and Ultex Picks

Re: Tech 21 Trademark 60 vs Roland Cube 60

I have a TM60 and a Cube 30, but I haven't heard a Cube 60.

For Classic Rock I much prefer the TM60. It sounds and feels a lot like a tube amp. The Cube sounds sterile and harsh by comparison.

The Cube however seems to have more gain on tap. The TM60 has a Metallica sample setting that sounds pretty good to me, but you probably should try them both out to be sure.

My gut feeling is the TM60 is a real amp that I'm happy to gig and record with, while the Cube is essentially a loud practice amp.

How do you like the second half of this?

Comment

Originally posted by Simon_F
      I have a TM60 and a Cube 30, but I haven't heard a Cube 60.

For Classic Rock I much prefer the TM60. It sounds and feels a lot like a tube amp. The Cube sounds sterile and harsh by comparison.

The Cube however seems to have more gain on tap. The TM60 has a Metallica sample setting that sounds pretty good to me, but you probably should try them both out to be sure.

My gut feeling is the TM60 is a real amp that I'm happy to gig and record with, while the Cube is essentially a loud practice amp.

How do you like the second half of this?
      yeah i have been listening to that clip quite a bit, even before you gave me the link, i actually really like the distorted tone though the gain isn't too high. I'd rather have tone than loads of gain though. I can always find ways to get more gain right?
      Michael Kelly Patriot Black w/Rockfield Fat Ass set