if so how?

EHD
    Just here surfing Guitar Pron
    RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
    SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
    Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
    Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
    Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
    Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
    GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

theyve been making v30s in china for years, maybe like 15 years ago if memory serves. there are at least a few versions on the v30. mesa had one version, marshall had another

Comment

There are A TON of different V30 versions from Celestion. I have read that within the same model, they also vary tonally from year to year of production. Nolly Getwood supposedly has that experience.

And yes, the Mesa Boogie V30 is different. It is warmer and fatter than the stock V30 with more low mids.

AFAIK, the different versions from Celestion I can think of are the following:

Stock Chinese V30.
      Mesa voiced V30.
      Marshall Vintage.
      Marshall Dave Mustaine sig speaker.
      Bad Cat voiced V30.
      Blackstar voiced V30.
      Relic 30.

I'm sure I'm leaving out some.

Also keep in mind that 16 ohm speakers usually sound brighter than 8 ohm versions of the same speaker.

Comment

so if I want the stock Chinese V30 I have to sound like the Mesa version

Can I just spray paint the cone black

by thickening the cone material it changes the way it moves
        and this should darken it a bit and make it more Mesa Like
        EHD

Comment

I doubted the different versions but I heard some Youtube clips and I could hear the differences. I’m not sure if I care if I only have one (I only have Mesa).
          Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

Originally posted by ehdwuld View Post
            so if I want the stock Chinese V30 I have to sound like the Mesa version

Can I just spray paint the cone black