Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DSL40CR tube help

Hello all,

I've got a friend whose been through the ringer, his 17 yr old son had to have heart surgery and there were tone of complications. He had to be rushed back to the hospital from home multiple times, his blood pressure bottomed out and he had ht least one stroke. His left eye pupil is a pinpoint, unreactive to a flashlight or darkness at all.

This poor dad is also the other guitarist in my band, so I want to do something to make him smile.

I went and found some decent old stock pre tubes (a Matsu****a Japanese Mullard and a Sylvania).

Now i have plenty of experience with 3 pre tube amps as the biggest difference is made upgrading V1 and V3 Phase Inverter to my ears.

His DSL40CR will be my first time with an amp that has 4 pre tubes.

So is it the same here v1 and PI or are there other places where an upgraded pre will have more of a pronounced effect like v2 etc?

PS I know alot of folks dont put much or any stock into old tubes, but once you play a quality Marshall style amp with a Mullard in v1 you'll get it all from hitting one chord!

V1 should still be the most affected position, that's the initial gain stage. I would make an educated guess that V4 is the PI, as the PI is the last "preamp" tube before the power tubes, it's the tube that splits the signal and inverts one side for the AB power section. So, yes, in pretty much all AB power amp designs, whether 3 tubes, or 6, the last "preamp" tube is the PI (I use "" because it's really part of the power section but is a "preamp" style tube).

Comment

id think v1 for first stages and v4 for pi. i like to swap v1 to find the best tone but the pi can be the hardest working tube in the amp so i just make sure whatever goes in there is strong

Comment

Most definitely!!!