Powerstage 700: How to protect speakers from damage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Powerstage 700: How to protect speakers from damage

I'm happy to be a new member to this forum. I've been playing guitar for 40+ years, and this is the first time I've ever had to consider such a drastic ratio of amp power to speaker cabinet power handling.

Is there an effective method to objectively determine the maximum volume level one can safely dial in on the Powerstage 700 without damaging the connected speakers?

I have a PS700 in my guitar rig, and just like most everyone else on earth, my speaker cabinet can handle fewer watts than the PS700 is capable of dispensing. To be exact, I'm feeding two 120w 2x12 cabs at 8ohms each, and I'm considering swapping one of the speakers in each of the 2x12s which would consequently reduce each cab's power handling to 50w. If the PS700 is capable of 350 per side at 8ohms, then I'd like to know a safe limit for the PS700's volume dial in this rig because I'd prefer to not blow my speakers.

To be upfront, I'm not interested in replacing my PS700 with a couple of PS170s or the like. I'm fine with having too much power on tap from a single unit, I just want to protect my speakers.

Looking forward to your input.

How loud do you play? What speaker are you going to use as a replacement? A 25W speaker? The power into the amp is shared by all the speakers, it's not set by the speaker with the lowest power rating. I would think that unless you are turning up to very uncomfortable levels you aren't going over 120W, probably not 50W but no guarantees (I could be wrong?). Maybe you can find a similar speaker tha's rated higher for the replacement? Just to be safe.

Comment

Originally posted by devastone View Post