Please educate me on SS amps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please educate me on SS amps

I have very specific thoughts about tube, modeling, profiling and solid state amp tones... but I'm not entirely sure who is using what and would really appreciate some thoughts and/or examples.

And I'm only interested in pop blues rock jazz country examples because that's what I play..

I've seen various takes on this conversation, but I've never really seen a definitive discussion or video for that matter..

I've been playing all four types for 40 years or as long as they've existed and see them this way..

Tubes, in general, the best way to get great fat singing thick sounds, brown sounds and light crunch. Relatively easy to get clean twin like sounds and can be a challenge to get pristine crisp clear, although it is possible.

Modeling and profiling do a good job covering practically everything. They seem to me to be a very slight step down in quality from tubes, however, their flexibility totally makes up for it, and in the mix, it's impossible to tell them apart from tubes.

Solid state.. All of my experience is with early models.. like the The lab series 7 or JC 120.. to me these are the definitive hyper clean sounds, however, this is all I've ever been able to make solid state do... Of course you can put pedals and tubes and modeling in front of them to get just about anything, but in my mind solid state by itself is either clean or farty, weak, unlike tube tones.

And just to be clear, I don't have recent solid state experience which is probably where I'm missing something...

But when people talk about liking solid state for anything other than cleans, are they talking about pure solid state amplifiers? If so what changed from lab series and JC 120 time period? Do they now include solid state circuits that emulate good crunch, so they are really more like modelers?