Marshall JCM Series

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall JCM Series

Hey all. I am an absolute beginner when it comes to amps and pedals and stuff, maybe you guys could help out.

I am looking to upgrade on my MG50 (dire) with a JCM/DSL amp. I was looking at a second hand JCM 900 in a local guitar shop, and was advised that it would be a killer amp. Now, my question is, are new models like the JCM 2000 worth saving for? What are the differences between the JCM 800s, 900s and 2000s?
    Fender Guitars ~ Marshall Amps ~ Seymour Duncan Pickups

Match Made in Heaven

Re: Marshall JCM Series

Search function is your friend. There have been some big threads about this in the past.

Honestly I don't know why more things don't get vaulted around here.
    I'm an internet person. All we do is waste time evaluating things that have next-to-zero real world significance.

Remember, it's just a plank of wood. YOU have to find the music in it - The Telecaster Handbook

Comment

Sorry, forgive me.

I never usually come round this board, which is why I know naff all about amps.

Match Made in Heaven

Comment

I had a JCM800 1x12 combo for a while - and it was awesome tone! Then had a Yamaha T50 after that, more of a Soldano/Boogie sound, more 6L6 sounding - but it wasnt the Marshall sound... Then I got a DSL 50 - and that is all Marshall! Clean can got close to JTM45 up to Plexi when gain is cranked - then gain channel can do JCM800 on up to "modern" Marshall sounds, all from the front panel! I think the channel switching is the best part of the DSL - a clean that is very nice and a raging Marshall gain channel to boot.

That said, I actually have my DSL50 head for sale in the Trading Post if you are interested; have a look and see how it compares to the JCM900 you saw...

Dano
        EVH: "I'm a tone chaser... I love chasin' tone!"

Comment