Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best speaker for 5E3?

Hey fellas-

So I'm still in the contemplating/talking stages, but I'm possibly gonna be getting a 5E3 clone (Li'l Dawg Amps). It comes stock with a Jensen P12R. I'm a speaker noob, so is this a quality speaker/a good one for this amp? Anyone got any suggestions for this type of amp (that won't break the bank)? Thanks much!

Re: Best speaker for 5E3?

Bump?!

Comment

The P12R is the classic 12" Jensen. It is an alnico magnet speaker that handles (iirc) 40-50 watts. I have an original and it's a great speaker tonewise. Very warm, with a smooth breakup. If the re-issues are anything like the original it is one of the best speakers you could use. They are not as loud, nor as bright as the Celestion Blue.

Comment

I have a Weber 12A125 in mine that I am quite pleased with. The Celestion Blue is supposed to be the ultimate though!!
        I get weak in the knees at the sight of a vintage Fender amp!

Comment

Ok, a P12R is about a 15-20 watt speaker and is not what would have come stock in a late (5E3) Deluxe. The late 50's Deluxe amps would have gotten a P12Q.

Also, the "reissue" Jensen speakers really are simply not great speakers, thewy have a few models that are OK but most of them are just fair speakers at best IMO.

If you want a better speaker than a reisue Jensen go with a Weber VST, Ted's 10A125 is prtty close to a P12Q and B Bent (from this forum) has a Weber 12A125 in his 5E3 clone and it's a pretty kickin speaker.

If you want more headroom and a more solid clean bass go with a ceramic speaker (like maybe the Weber 12F125, which is the same as the 12A125 but with a ceramic magnet)

If you wanted to go with the early style Jensen P12R the Weber version of that speaker is called a 12A100 and it comes in 2 versions...one with a smooth cone and one with a ribbed cone.