Which bass for metalcore

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which bass for metalcore

I'm a guitarist by trade but I might be joining a metalcore band playing bass. I've been filling in a few times so they may offer me the permanent spot.

So if I get the job which bass would be the best one to get for a metalcore/post-hardcore sound? They play in drop b tuning and I have been using someone's Epiphone Firebird. Most of the bass work involves following guitars so driving the root notes and doubling up on riffs.

Is a 4 string better or a 5 string?

Also what amp heads and cabs? I know very little on bass tone so would appreciate some help.

Thanks.

Re: Which bass for metalcore

Pretty much any bass can be used for metal.... active/passive, P, J or soapbar... doesn't matter. Rock/metal bass is generally sort of scooped. Your job is to provide the low end, but having some brightness helps to because it adds attack to the kick drum. Most dual pickup basses will naturally scoop the sound due to phase cancellation between the pickups. It's why you'll see a lot of 2 pickup basses in rock/metal.... Jazz, PJs, and 2 pickup soapbars.

Some people will advice you not to scoop, but my band started sounding much better when I stopped fighting it. Being a guitarist I liked my midrange, but on bass I was making a mess of the guitars and vocals. Once I carved out a space for them in my EQ the whole band sounded much better.

My recommendation is to listen to a bunch of bands you dig the sound of and figure out what they're using for gear, then go try some stuff out and see how it feels in your hands. I was pretty set on getting an Ibanez until I plugged in a Fender. Currently own two Jazz basses.