banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Quarter Pound Jazz Pickups fit in this Squier?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quarter Pound Jazz Pickups fit in this Squier?

Squier by Fender Classic Vibe 70's Jazz Bass V - Maple - Natural : Amazon.ca: Musical Instruments, Stage & Studio

I know the Seymour site says the quarter pound jazz pickups won't fit import basses, but I'm feeling like maybe if I'm lucky that information is either outdated, or this particular bass where it's a 70's style might be exempt from that. I'm pretty new to bass, can anyone help me clear up if i'd be able to fit some Duncan Quarter pounds in this Squier?

I wanna buy a bass.. I have a Soundgear SR505 right now and it does play nice, but it's too modern for me and I'm looking for something a bit more classic.

Only thing I'm unsure of is the fret size, I'd prefer something a little bigger but all the description says on this guy is "narrow and tall" which sounds about right for me if it's what I'm thinking. if anyone can comment on the fret size I'd appreciate that as well ! I've been looking at basses for a little while and this is the one I've been keeping my eye on the most.

Still debating between the 4 string and 5 string versions of the bass.. but the same question would still apply I think
    Last edited by BeKindRewind; 03-31-2022, 08:53 AM.

As I remember, on the Fender stuff the pickups are slightly different in dimensions - the bridge unit being a bit wider. The protrusions for the height adjustment screws are spaced a wee bit wider, too. On the Squiers - the pickups are exactly the same size, and it's not a big deal to gently lengthen the routing for a proper fit. The protrusions can be slightly re-arched, too. The enlarged bridge pickup hole will barely be noticeable if done correctly. I've been using a Dremel rig for decades to do it.
    aka Chris Pile, formerly of Six String Fever

Comment

Originally posted by ICTGoober View Post