Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Easy soldering question for you guys

On this schematic here
    where it says "red and white soldered together," Does it mean I have to ground those two? Or can I leave the red and white (soldered together) just hanging without being grounded? I'm a beginner. Thanks.

-Greg

Re: Easy soldering question for you guys

Originally posted by StrangeDay
    On this schematic here
    where it says "red and white soldered together," Does it mean I have to ground those two? Or can I leave the red and white (soldered together) just hanging without being grounded? I'm a beginner. Thanks.

-Greg
    Solder the red and white together and let them lay un-grounded making sure those wires don't come in contact with anything else...I always use some heat shrink on the connections..

John
    Amps: 66 Fender BF Pro Reverb Combo,1973 50 Watt Marshall Head,Marshall 4x12 A/V Cab,Vox ToneLab LE,Vox VTH Valvetronix 120 Head,Vox AD 2x12 Cab,Roland Cube 20X

Guitars: Several Stratocasters,2 Fender Telecasters,Gibson SG Standard,Tokai Love Rock Les Paul,Dean Acoustic.

Pickups: SD SSL2,SSL5,Twangbanger,Antiquity Surfers,59N,Seth Lover N/B,Dimarzio Fred,Dimarzio VPAF N,Fender Fat 50s,Fralin SP43 Bridge,Brobucker,Antiquity Texas Hot.

Comment

i think you float them just because there is no ground symbal...

(edit) damn it STRATDELUXER97 you beat me to the answer i took to long to hit submit
      Last edited by Chi3f; 03-23-2004, 09:14 PM.
      boreddddddddddd

Comment

uh oh... Guys, what happens if I solder the wires (together) to the back of the volume pot? that's what I did Is that what's causing the noise?!!! Darn. Oh well, I thought I did OK for my first time.

Comment

Originally posted by StrangeDay
          uh oh... Guys, what happens if I solder the wires (together) to the back of the volume pot? that's what I did Is that what's causing the noise?!!! Darn. Oh well, I thought I did OK for my first time.