question about elixir strings...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about elixir strings...

I'm a big big fan of these strings... I've been using them for 3 years now...Anybody knows what they're made of? I've been looking at different acoustic pick-ups (as some of you know) and some (like the fishman rare earth for example) say that their pick-up is voiced for bronze or phosphore-bronze strings. Ok... so I tried to find what these elixir were made of (never even thought of wondering about that before) and I can't find it, not on the package, not on the website, nowhere... Can anybody help me out a little? Is it directly in my face and I don't see it?
    Thanks

Re: question about elixir strings...

The Elixir acoustic strings are phosphor bronze, they just have a coating on them. They work fine with my Duncan-equipped acoustic. They probably specify phosphor bronze on the pickup description just to differentiate from nylon strings. The high E and B acoustic strings by any company are just plain steel anyway.

Comment

Thanks for the reply... They stated on the pick-up that nickel strings would screw the balance up regarding wound to un-wound strings.... Anyways, that's all I wanted to know so thanks! BTW: Where did you see they were Ph-brnz?

Comment

I don't recall where exactly I saw that, but they are phosphor bronze. Not to mention the fact that if they were nickel they'd be a silverish color, not the sort of golden color they are (the same color as other phosphor bronze strings). Try a set, I can't imagine you'd have any problems with any quality pickup. Or if you're still not convinced, go here:

and give 'em a call.

Comment

Thanks, I already did contact them via email... I know the outside wouldn't be this color... I was more questionning the core of the strings... Anyways, thanks for the help...

Comment