bass: finger style vs pick style

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bass: finger style vs pick style

Apparently there is a huge controversy about these different bass styles, mainly finger guys trashing the pick guys.
    What do you use and why?
    100% finger style
    26.09%
    finger most of the time
    30.43%
    fifty-fifty
    26.09%
    pick most of the time
    17.39%
    100% pick style
    0%

Re: bass: finger style vs pick style

I tend to switch it up. Ever notice how different a bass sounds played with a pick? It's like a tonal option to me.

Comment

I'm a guitarist who just started to play bass. So, I use only pick but I'm trying my best to use fingers for some slap style.

Comment

Steve Harris doesn't use a pick.
        "If anyone at my funeral has a long face, I'll never speak to him again." ~ Stan Laurel

Comment

Paul McCartney and Chris Squire do pretty well with picks. Personally, there are better things to care about.
          Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Originally posted by grumptruck
            I view bassists that use picks like guitarists using capos.
            It's this kind of thing that holds players back.

Roger Waters, Bill Wyman, John Entwistle, Noel Redding all were known to use picks, at least some of the time. When it's better than your fingers for a particular tune, you use it.

The same thing happens to some Bluegrass players who reject the capo. Sure they could play it all with fingerings and show the whole world how much of a bada$$ they think that makes them, but they lose one fundamental thing Bluegrass REALLY suffers without...the pretty ringing sound that a cowboy chord with a capo in another key gives the tune.
            Last edited by guitfiddle; 10-11-2010, 10:35 AM.
            - Tom

Originally posted by Frankly
            Some people make the wine. Some people drink the wine. And some people sniff the cork and wonder what might have been.