banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What guitar for Strat feel, and Strat AND LP tones?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What guitar for Strat feel, and Strat AND LP tones?

So I've been playing pro for 24 years. I've owned just about everthing in terms of the big brands. During the late 90's I thought I'd found the perfect blend of Strat and LP, so I bought a pair of PRS Custom 24s. But I grew tired of them after a few years. They didn't have Strat mojo, and they didn't have LP mojo. They were just beautiful, but watered-down versions of both.

So I returned to Strats and LPs. But the dream has never died for me. I would like to find ONE guitar, that covers everything I do with it (metal, hard rock, fusion, country, and blues). IE... plays AND sounds great whether in the clean channel, or the OD channel.

I put a Duncan Custom Custom in one of my Strats. But it still sounds like a Strat. Which is awesome through my Fender Twin, but not-so-much through the OD channel of my Bogner. And I have several LPs with the Duncan JB/59 combo and coil-splitting -- but they're no Strat when it comes to the clean channel. But I LOVE the fat, sustaining LP tone through the OD channel.

So I'm just looking for ideas here. What about that see-thru red mahogany-bodied Fender Strat? Does that get stratty for cleans, but crunchy and LPish for OD tones? How bout an Anderson Drop Top? What else? I don't have a dealer for these guitars locally (supposedly one of them will be ordering some Anderson guitars in the future though). So I can't really try all of them out before I buy.

Or should I build my "perfect" guitar (for me) from a Warmoth body and neck. If so, what should I have the body made from to give me both worlds? How about H-H vs. H-S-H, vs. H-S-S pickup configs?

Sorry for the long-winded question... just trying to give you an idea of what I'm looking for and what I've already owned/tried.
    Last edited by Red_Label; 12-14-2010, 04:58 PM.