Speaker wiring ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speaker wiring ?

I have a little Peavy amp that sounds real good for practicing, but I blew the Speaker in it.

Ho do I wire the speaker wires to a 1\4 inch plug so that I can hook it up to my 4x12?

Re: Speaker wiring ?

***DISCLAIMER: I'm no pro, so consider this a bump***

Does the little Peavey have an impedence switch....can you switch ohm loads?

The 4x12 is probably wired at 16ohms so if you can switch the amp to 16ohm(or whatever the speaker cab is), I would imagine you could disconnect the wires from the speaker terminals, solder on a male 1/4" plug, plug into the 4x12 & have at it.

Hope it works for you!!!

Guitars: Frankinstein TeleBird/Classic Vibe Esquire w/BG-1400/Martin 000-28EC
    Amps: 3rd Power Dream Solo 4 '68 Plexi/Port City Wave 2x12
    FX: Skinpimp Faceplant/Skinpimp 3OD/Flyin' Dragon

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fa...wn/id786464154
    http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/seanhanley

Comment

I just checked the speaker that was in the amp and it is 3.2 ohms What kind of deal is that

So does that make the amp 3.2 ohms, and if so what happens if I run that into a 16 OHM Cab?

Comment

On the back of your 4x12, there should be a badge type thing saying how it's wired...2/4/8/16/ohms...3.2 is beyond my grasp.

Artie...Lew...anyone, help a brother out????

Guitars: Frankinstein TeleBird/Classic Vibe Esquire w/BG-1400/Martin 000-28EC
        Amps: 3rd Power Dream Solo 4 '68 Plexi/Port City Wave 2x12
        FX: Skinpimp Faceplant/Skinpimp 3OD/Flyin' Dragon

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fa...wn/id786464154
        http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/seanhanley

Comment

Yea, my cab is 16 ohms.

Comment