Fads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fads

I'm not at all an 'old-timer' but when I started playing the guitar magazines had ads with the guy from Hed PE, or Dan Donegan or Coal Chamber. Also - Guitar Magazines. So I've been playing long enough to recognize some pretty silly bull**** that no one ever speaks of again.

Curious: Which notable fads are you now able to recognize as such?

The big one I remember is the Squier 51 . People had a really creepy, Beanie Baby-ish mindset toward them for a while- first looking for the more 'desirable' combinations of colors pick-guards, early models, first release models, etc. Even if you weren't a fanatic, you probably had one. I had one for a couple months, before I realized it really was a freaking Squier - no more, no less. Looks like they go for about twice the original purchase price now anyway (meaning still dirt cheap.) Didn't they have their own forum for a while? What happened to your Squier 51 ?
    Originally posted by King Buzzo
    I love when people come up to me and say “Your guitar sound was better on Stoner Witch, when you used a Les Paul. “...I used a Fender Mustang reissue on that, dumbass!

Re: Fads

Never owned a Squire '51.

I think djent is the current one. Or has it already passed?
    “I can play the hell out of a riff. The rest of it’s all bulls**t anyway,” Gary Holt

Comment

A current fad is either everything is either super modern, or super retro, and magazines sort of make you feel like you have to fit into one of these camps, which is nonsense, of course.
      Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

It was all shred guitars and super complex rack systems when I started.

Hard rock was there too when GnR brought back vintage guitar styles like LP's V's SG's etc

Then it went back to basic amps/heads and the odd guitars like Jags, Jazzmasters as grunge hit.

Then metal became chuggy and the super-high gain zillion channel amp hit.

Comment