MIM Lone Star Stratocaster Upgrades?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIM Lone Star Stratocaster Upgrades?

I have recently started upgrading my HSS Lonestar, Initially I replaced the tuning machines with Fender Locking tuners and I just purchased the callaham bridge assembly. My next step would most likely be a bone/tusq nut. This is my first time really tinkering around with upgrading a guitar and I have done hours of research but I am not sure if upgrading the pick ups would be of more importance? I only have one issue with the Texas special/SD pearly gates, the position pointing up at the neck doesn't seem to cut or have as much bite as the far position does. Is this something I can fix within the pickup itself or should I be looking at maybe upgrading them as well? I play a lot of blues/rock, some country so I'm looking for those kind of tones.

Re: MIM Lone Star Stratocaster Upgrades?

I'd suggest a TUSQ XL nut and TUSQ XL string trees. They're self-lubricating and will enhance your tuning stability greatly, especially when you use the whammy bar.

Be sure to keep your saddles lubricated, too. I suggest liquid teflon which you can find at your local bicycle shop. You can get a huge bottle of it super cheap that will last you forever. It's much cheaper than specialty products like Big Bends Nut Sauce and it's effective.

Jeffrey Nadrich
    Last edited by slokat; 08-06-2019, 12:57 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by slokat View Post
      I'd suggest a TUSQ XL nut and TUSQ XL string trees. They're self-lubricating and will enhance your tuning stability greatly, especially when you use the whammy bar.

Be sure to keep your saddles lubricated, too. I suggest liquid teflon which you can find at your local bicycle shop. You can get a huge bottle of it super cheap that will last you forever. It's much cheaper than specialty products like Big Bends Nut Sauce and it's effective.
      Something like this?