Sterling Albert Lee Wiring Diagram

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sterling Albert Lee Wiring Diagram

Recently purchased a Sterling AL40 Albert Lee. Got it used for a good price. The bridge humbucker sounds thin and weak. Checked SD wiring diagram for 2 HB, 1 vol, 1 tone, 5-way superswitch. While I understand that the color codes may not match, I can still see that the way this guitar is wired is not like the SD diagram. I also noticed one of the jumper wires is disconnected on one end. Rather than unsolder everything and start over, I was hoping to find a wiring diagram of the guitar to see if it's something simple rather than start over. While I have some experience with wiring and soldering, I'm no guitar electronics expert. Thanks in advance.

welcome to the forum!

if you take a good detailed pic of what you have now, we may be able to diagnose the issue if no one can come up with the schematic

Comment

I thought Mincer did a wiring for this scheme in a blog article?

Edit: I think this might be the 'official' one

looks like it's the same as the Axis

Last edited by beaubrummels; 06-28-2021, 05:14 PM.

Comment

Yes, I wired my Silhouette Special like this. But first we have to find out if the Albert Lee's 2 humbuckers are wired the same way, and if they accomplish that with a Super Switch. My wiring depended on the neck humbucker having its magnet flipped, too. I don't know if the Sterlings have a proprietary switch.
        Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Thank you so much for posting this! I will use it to check the wiring this evening. And, to answer the other post, the AL40 has the 5-way Superswitch. I'd be happy to post a pic. It is hard to tell what's going on though with all the wires.

Comment