Bubbles in Paint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bubbles in Paint

I'm trying to paint a guitar body, but I keep getting bubbles in the dried paint. Solvent based rattle cans, not nitro.

Is this simply because I'm putting it on too thickly or could there be another reason?

Thanks in advance.

Most spray can finishes are mixed with a pretty hot solvent which boils off too quickly, making bubbles.
    aka Chris Pile, formerly of Six String Fever

Comment

I’m just getting started on my paint journey so others will know far more than me….

The things I think of immediately are a contaminant between coats (did you clean with wax and grease remover before shooting) a paint incompatibility or maybe a layer of paint not adhering. (If it’s not lacquer, did you scuff between coats if it was fully dry?)

What are each of the paints you are using? (Primer, bases, any transparent and clears?)

Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

Make sure you're spraying very lightly and allowing everything to dry properly between. Multiple light coats will lead to a much better finish than fewer thick coats.
        Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
        This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Originally posted by GuitarStv View Post
          Make sure you're spraying very lightly and allowing everything to dry properly between. Multiple light coats will lead to a much better finish than fewer thick coats.
          Yes, good point. The can will tell you time to recoat, it’ll be something like less than an hour or over 24 hours.
          Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment