Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Most "traditional" 5 way HSS Strat setup

Hi all,
    So I'm building my first real Strat around a Floyded HSS Jackson Adrian Smith SDX model with 5 way switch. Prior to this, I had used HSS super Strats, mainly Jackson Dinkys. This is my first time working with a plastic pickguard and using that approach to wiring pickups. It's also my first time working with a non-recessed Floyd.

I was surprised at how big an actual Strat is (for scale, I'm about Angus Young sized) when compared to a 7/8 size Dinky.

I'll number this to make it a little easier.

1) As far as knobs, what is the most traditional setup? Based on most wiring diagrams I have seen, it is tone/tone/volume.

2) How should the 5 way switch be wired for the most traditional manner?

I know the 5 way switch can be wired numerous ways as is evident on many Ibanez models. I thought I'd get feedback on how a 5 way is usually wired in a traditional manner.

I thought it might be neck, neck/middle, neck/middle/humbucker in parallel, middle and humbucker, humbucker.

The Smith model has two knob holes in the pickguard. Right away I'm noticing I'm probably going to need 3 pot holes for what I have in mind.

I imagine a Fender 11 screw HSS pickguard will fit it since Jackson is Fender now. I've emailed Sweetwater for compatibility just in case. I know I can drill a hole easily but without a CnC machine or drill press I feel it won't look nice.

3) I'd like the following: master tone, master volume/push/pull for phase, 3 way on/on/on DPDT switch so the humbucker can be wired series/split/parallel. I would use a Triple Shot for this but a Strat doesn't have humbucker mounting rings (duh), something I didn't realize until I closely looked at it (I thought the ring could be incorporated into the pickguard somehow).