My homemade guitar case humidifiers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My homemade guitar case humidifiers

This winter I will be doing something I've never done before to my guitars. I'm going to put in homemade humidifiers in their cases. I got the idea from someone on this forum. I could have spent another $50.00 and bought something from Sweetwater, but this fellow said making your own is just as good. Here are a few photos:

Attached Files

Why have a sponge at all? You just need water in a dish.

Edit - Oh, is this for a case that you're moving around a lot?
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Is that glass or plastic?
      EHD
      Just here surfing Guitar Pron
      RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
      SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
      Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
      Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
      Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
      Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
      GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

Comment

Oh crap. Should I be keeping my guitars in cases? I have them hanging on a wall. I have fish tanks which keep the room humidified. I haven't had any problems afaict.

Maybe a fish tank is cheaper that buying a humidifier for every guitar case?

I have a dehumidifier for use as needed.

Comment

Dishes are glass. A sponge is better. You can wet in to the max or ring some water out of it. You can regulate it.

Comment