Refin advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refin advice

A friend of mine gave me an cheapo Tele body in a translucent butterscotch blonde. I'm looking to refinish it purely for the practice. Chemical stripper is off the table, and I'm assuming a heat gun would risk the integrity of the veneer, so I think I'm stuck with sanding.

This would be my first axe that I'm shooting for a stain, so my usual pisspoor sanding method isn't going to cut it. I'm assuming power sander for the front, sanding block for the sides, but what about the fillet? How do I sand the edges without going through them? My guess for paper is 60 grit until all the color is gone, then 120 to flatten out the rough spots, then 320 to smooth it out?

Any advice for staining either? I've never done it before
    You will never understand How it feels to live your life With no meaning or control And with nowhere left to go You are amazed that they exist And they burn so bright
    Whilst you can only wonder why

WHY is chemical stripping off the table?
    aka Chris Pile, formerly of Six String Fever

Comment

Yes, that's the general idea for sanding, although you could optimize the grits. I sanded surfboards professionally. For heavy to start you could go between 40, 60, or 80. Sometimes lower grit cuts better, sometimes 80 actually cuts better. If you start cutting through most of the finish with 40, you could switch to 80 to avoid deep scratches. Once you have the finish off, go to 120 to take out all the scratches. 120 won't put deep scratches in the wood so do all of the scratch removal and smoothing with 120. Then go to 180 for fine sanding and the surface should be perfect and quite soft. After that if you choose, you can take it to whatever further fine grit you prefer: 220, 320, 400 etc.
      Last edited by Clint 55; 02-15-2024, 05:27 PM.
      The things that you wanted
      I bought them for you

Comment