Review: Esp Ltd Ec-400

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Review: Esp Ltd Ec-400

I went into Steve's Music in Toronto today to play a guitar that had EMG's stock, and the dude handed me an EC-400. I always thought that the LTD series of guitars would be like squiers are to Fenders (really really crappy quality) but boy was I wrong. As soon as I started playing it, I could tell that I will certainly enjoy any other LTD guitars I will play in the future.

This model had an EMG 81/81 combo that SANG! When I plugged it into a Randall 100SC 100 watt combo through a Boss MT-2, I was surprised at the nice cleans I could get out of it. Everyone always says that EMG 81's have sh1t cleans, but these were actually nice. Not too bassy in the bridge, just the right amount of mid and treble. In the neck, there was not too much bass, or too little, it was just right.

When I started sliding up and down the neck with Weezer's Say it Ain't So, I must say I really liked how smooth and slideable the neck was. It was a nice shape that made my left hand feel very at home. With its 24 XJ frets and 24.75" scale, the playability of this guitar was amazing. Bends were not a problem at all, and the overall ease of movement made quick shred runs a pleasure. I wouldn't change anything about this neck.

I stepped on the Metal Zone, and let me say.... I almost fell off the stool. The clarity of these pickups through the ridiculous gain I pushed through them shocked me beyond belief. And once again, I stress the fact that the neck made metal tunes flow through my fingers... I couldn't help but begin playing South of Heaven by Slayer. I LOVE the tone from this guitar.