Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• String Recommendations for Electric?

Hi-

I don't want this to turn into one of those threads with 50 entries... but...

I was wondering who makes the best quality-per-dollar for electric guitar strings. I'm looking for either 0.010-0.046 or 0.010-0.052 sets. Let me emphasize the "per-dollar" aspect of things, since I know there are probably some really decent strings out there for > $20/set.

Also, if you can recommend a good discount web-based distributor, that would be great.

I've been playing for 20 years, but I've never really paid as much attention to strings as I probably should. Usually I use either D'Addario or Ernie Ball. At one point, a friend gave me a case of Yamaha strings, which were supposedly crap, but I didn't detect that much of a difference.

Thanks in advance, and sorry for asking a potential "roll-call" type of question.
    Check out the website for my band, Wilgus

Remember... If you're not angry, you're not paying attention!!

Re: String Recommendations for Electric?

www.juststrings.com has lot's 'o strings at good prices.

I play custom 10.5 GHS boomers.
    (2) Randall RM4 preamps, VHT 2502 Power amp, 2 2x12 Bogner cabs w/V30's and Lead 80's, '74 Gibson Les Paul Goldtop, '89 Gibson Les Paul Cherryburst, '93 Stratocaster, and a bunch of other stuff.

Comment

I play GHS Super Steels 010 - 046 or D'addario 010 - 046, depends on what's in stock in the store which i'm a regular customer to
      100% Bass player

Comment

EB's, went to the more expensive strings like Elixir's, loved them at first, but after about a week their glow started deteriorrating and they became less than average strings and broke within a few days. EB's have always been reliable and cheap.

Comment

You can't go wrong with DR's
          Romans 3:23; 6:23; 5:8; 10:13; 10:9-10

Teknon Theou
          https://youtube.com/channel/UCo848I2...e4jKB5DNZ4Y7hs