banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When did "distortion boxes" become "distortion pedals"?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When did "distortion boxes" become "distortion pedals"?

When I started playing guitar in the early 1980s everyone referred to effects as "boxes," as in "I got a new distortion box." A chorus or flanger or delay we just called a chorus or a flanger or a delay, or maybe a "delay box." Volume pedals and wah pedals were called that because, well, they have a frickin pedal right there on the box. Everything else was just an effect box. And somewhere along the way we all started talking about pedals and pedal boards and I have no idea when or why that happened. I did a quick google search for a few effects manufacturers and Ibanez was using the word "pedal" in their ads by the early 1980s, but MXR does not.

So when did everyone start calling a box with a switch on it a "pedal"? Why? I can't even remember the last time I saw any reference to an effect box.

Re: When did "distortion boxes" become "distortion pedals"?

Modern pedals are truly lacking the organic sound of vintage boxes.

Other than that I got nothing, does stuff like this keep you awake at night?

Comment

They've been called pedals since I started in 1996.

It's all just nomenclature anyway, a lot of old timers call everything a fuzz box whether it's a fuzz, distortion, overdrive or boost.
      Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

When did "distortion boxes" become "distortion pedals"?

I started playing in ‘87 and I always remember calling them pedals.

Comment

It doesn't keep me up at night, but I am enough of a geek to truly wonder when and why the switch took place! Just a random thought because I've done a lot of eBay and Reverb shopping lately and searching for a "box" gets you nada.

Maybe it was a regional thing - I lived in Northeast Ohio then, where we called bubbly drinks "pop," not "soda" or "coke."

Comment