i scream, you scream, we all scream about Tube Screamers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i scream, you scream, we all scream about Tube Screamers

I'm not really a pedal guy. But out of all the pedals I've owned, I must have had like 12-15 variatons on Tube Screamers, LOL.

I'm very passionate about TS's. Ever since I started taking tone seriously, I was using a POD XT and boosting my 5150 and Rectifier models with the 808 model.

As soon as I started playing real amps, I needed to have a TS. A friend gifted me an MXR Classic Overdrive, and it all started there. I then got a beat up TS9 that I always suspected was modded because it never sounded right. I guess the apex of my journey was the actual Ibanez TS808 reissue, because that's really what I always thought was *the* one to get.

I've really liked the Duncan 805, the Boss SD-1, and the MXR Classic OD/Wylde OD/GT-OD. However, I keep going back to my TS808. Nothing else quite gives me *that* sound.

I wish my 808 had the EQ capabilities of the 805, but sadly, it doesn't. But at the same time, I'm not sure I'd want it to. I like the set-and-forget nature of the 808. TBH, the only knob I ever tweak is the Tone knob. I'm a gain on 0, level on 10 kinda guy on OD's unless it has very little gain (like the 805) or too much output volume (which I don't normally find to be the case with TS-types).

Just wondering what you recommend I try next. I was thinking Wampler Clarksdale or JHS Bonsai. I tend to prefer the fatter options, and I'd love it if my 808 had a tad more bass (not as much as the Mesa Grid Slammer, though) and a bit less honky midrange. I'm thinking about giving the Maxon OD808 a try again exactly because that's how I remember it being.

So... let's discuss!