Newbie Installation ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Installation ?

Greetings. I've got the diagrams, I've got most of the tools, and I think I'm ready to replace my pickups. But I have two questions:

1. When I "solder and tape" two wires together, are we talking about plain old vinyl electrical tape? (Hey, I said I was a newbie!)

2. How essential is solder wick and the removal of old solder in general? Can I get a clean connection with a little bit of old solder in the mix?

3. I notice that my new pickups (A2P neck and PG bridge) are not caked in wax. Should they be?

Obviously, my urge to do things right and my lack of patience are once again at odds. When impatience wins, disaster usually follows, but I never seem to learn. As the saying goes, "we never have time to do it right, but we always have time to do it over."

Thanks, DZ
    Last edited by deanzat; 08-19-2004, 08:04 PM. Reason: additional question

Re: Newbie Installation ?

#1. Yup, just strip the ends of the wire, twist together and tape off with plain old electrical tape. You can put a dab of solder on there if you like before taping.

#2. Solder wick. I've never used it. I wouldn't worry about using it. The old solder shouldn't prevent a good connection provided there's not so much that it's touching other connections.

#3. They should not be caked in wax. SD sends them out ready to go, so don't worry about it.

Have fun and ask more questions. None of them are dumb. Welcome to the forum.
    My Sound Clips

Comment

Welcome to the forums friend...I Like using heat shrink tubing because the tape gets gooey after awhile and loses it's ability to hold....Here in Florida the tape is a problem with our humidity...LOL

Always try to remove as much of the old solder as possible and use fresh solder...A Radio Shack soldering sucker works great,better than the wick does and this is what I use on my pedal mods..

Always remember this...