pickup suggestions for epiphone dot.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pickup suggestions for epiphone dot.

i just picked up one of these and so far i like it. but the pickups are not great by any means. i was wondering what some good ones to look at would be? as with all of my guitars i will use it for blues to down tuned stuff with a lot of gain like down and sabbath type stuff. i am new to the semi hollow body guitars so i have no clue.

Re: pickup suggestions for epiphone dot.

Welcome to the world of 335's. Took me a long time to warm up to them, but once I finally did, they became my favorite. There's old threads on rewiring 335's, which isn't hard or time-consuming at all if you use a few tools and think logically. I trust you can.

As far as PU's, depends on if you're going for the PAF sound or higher output. Either way, you can really crank out some ballsy tones.

For PAF's, I really like a '59 pair. Even a maple 335 is a warm-sounding guitar. You could go the A2 route with PG's, Seth's, '57 Classics, BB's, 490's, etc.

For high output, a C5/'59N is ideal, or a C8/'59N if you want a warmer bridge. The Gibson 498T/490R pair is very good if you put an A5 in the neck (cleans up any mud). I'm really liking the idea of P-90's in 335's, and Phat Cats/P-94's, etc are an excellent choice, whether a pair of them or with a HB in the bridge. If you get PC's, you'll probably want to swap magnets to brighten the neck & add some muscle and body to the bridge.

I've got a pair of Carvin C22's in one of my 335's and they sound great.

Look at used PU's on eBay & you should be able to get them for about half price.
    "Completely Conceded Glowing Expert."
    "And Blueman, I am pretty sure you've pissed off a lot of people."
    "Wait, I know! Blueman and Lew can arm wrestle, and the winner gets to decide if 250K pots sound good or not."

Comment