Which Bridge Pickup to buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Bridge Pickup to buy?

I have a Samick Greg Bennett Avion AV3 (Les Paul body, same make except tonally sucky pickups)... I've been playing this guitar for the past 10 months and am thinking of upgrading its pickups.. I am mostly into hard rock, blues rock and shred metal...

For the neck puickup, I'm going with Alnico II pro.. My problem is the bridge pickup... Here are the specs I desire on it:

- First and foremost, it should be very articulate and clear sounding. I don't want notes to superpose and the buzz of open strings and eliminate hums and noise as much as possible

- Secondly, it should be GOOD FOR RIFFING and adapt well to distortion. I want harmonics to sound clearly.

- Thidly, tonally it SHOULD sound fat and warm. I know most bridge pickups are made to deliver sharp, knife edged and thin tone but that's not what I'm after...

Well these are all... Out here in my country, we have very few options on pickups and very common ones are put up for sale... There are few opportunities available to actually test these pickups and we mostly have to order them online... So I'm relying on you guys to give me good options...

Thanks in advance

PS: The reason I don't want APH2 as my bridge pup is because I've heard it can be noisy at high gain and aren't that articulate.

Re: Which Bridge Pickup to buy?

APH2 is IMO Articulate . I don' t know who told you it aint. If that was my guitar I would go for any of these combos 59 set, Pearly gates set, Custom 59 set. Pearly gates would be my first choice. What amp do you use.
    sigpic
    Ibanez SA 120- Bridge JB Trembucker Neck Jazz
    JFG Flying V,
    "If you hear something you're unable to play, then you have room to grow."-Al Di Meola
    John 8:32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free."

Comment

I use a solid state now but planning to buy a Laney Cub12 soon...