No announcement yet.

Swapping Pups vs Mags? Where to start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swapping Pups vs Mags? Where to start?

Well boys, let's get the big kids at the table have a little discussion.

I am EXTREMELY new to the mag swap scene, but very excited. I am no stranger to the pup swap.

I have played long enough, and enough different pups to generally be able to get the right brick in the hole the first time out of the gate, so I like to pup swap (although again, not really swapping in the dark).

Yet the mag swap has a certain speed/ease/cost appeal.

So what do you think: Don't worry about the pup. Work the mags with what you have, or get the pup in the ballpark, then tweek with the mags?

[For the record - I don't believe there is a right answer]
    Originally posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

Re: Swapping Pups vs Mags? Where to start?

i say try to the right pup first. then tweak.

Comment

My motto is 'work with what you have' and start with the simplest and cheapest solutions first, work your way up. If your tone isn't quite what you want, adjust the set up. Then try a couple mags, then pots. If it still isn't doing it for you, then strat looking for another PU. Make it a logical process, and don't zip around like a waterbug, as that's expensive and frustrating. A common mistake is some player's knee jerk response to get a new PU, which is often a questionable choice that gives them a new set of problems to deal with. Back where they started.