Want new pickups for LP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want new pickups for LP

Hello. This is my first post and I would be very grateful if I could get some of the existing members that are on this forum to help me decide which pups to get for my 2005 custom LP. Mahogany body, ebony fretboard. I'm fairly new at trying to understand what certain pups can do, and what they really can't do. I'm pretty sure this beautiful guitar that was given to me has 500k pots if that makes any sense. My current amp is a Mesa boogie express 5:50 plus, 50 watt combo. I enjoy playing modern as well as old school metal, heavy rock, and blues. I prefer a tight, crisp/clear heavy bottom end not muddy with good punch/power, good mid range, and nice clean articulate highs but not to shrill sounding. I think I'm leaning towards a 59 for the neck, but having a hard time deciding on the bridge. I dont have very much experience with different pickups and I was hoping that some of you fine people with some expertise in this department could lead me in the right direction. I very much appreciate your help.

ps: I am currently deciding between the Sh-5, JB, Sh-14, Sh-16, DD. Although i'm willing to listen to any other suggestions.
    Last edited by Dre_Dru; 08-29-2013, 11:10 PM.

Re: Want new pickups for LP

Hello & Welcome

I would say The Custom SH-5
    I like the 59n
    Not sure if SH-5 & 59 are the best with an Ebony board I'm sure more Les Paul experts can chime in.

you may also want to specify a little bit more for the experts: what you're not liking from your current gear, or what you want more of.
    Last edited by CountFeedback; 08-29-2013, 11:26 PM.

Comment

what pickups are in your les paul?

Comment

Originally posted by JonnyDoyle View Post
        what pickups are in your les paul?
        Should be 490R/498T