Are Dimarzios falling behind?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are Dimarzios falling behind?

I really don't mean any ill will with this, but when I started learning about guitar electronics, dimarzio were THE brand. All the coolest progressive players were using them, everyone was excited when they came out with new models and there were thread upon thread on the forums I visited about how they sounded lively and colourful while Duncans sounded dead. I've even noticed when watching Rig Rundowns or looking for the gear of a bunch of artists, everyone seems to be using Duncans, with a bunch of the metal guys using EMGs, and both brands have their artist roster ever increasing. Except for a rare interview I see with Paul Gilbert or Petrucci, I almost never hear anything about Dimarzio these days, and in spite of a signature model being released for the 'other' guy in Periphery I haven't seen anything about them in any big guitar magazines.

So.. what happened? Are they still as good as ever or did SD just win the pickup war?
    Originally posted by BigAlTheBird
    I just got oiixed in the mung by a Canadian.

Timmy - 1
    Andrew - None

Re: Are Dimarzios falling behind?

I don't think DiMarzio has gone away be any stretch. Go to any forum and you will likely see a thread about their 36th Anni PAFs. Which are quite good. People rave about the AT-1. Different people like different things. I prefer Duncans. Some people like DiMarzio or Suhr or Bareknuckle. I don't see it as any kind of war. It is a great time to be a guitar player. We have so many great choices in gear these days.
    2001 Les Paul Classic (Antiquity Set)
    2005 Les Paul Standard (Aldrich set)
    2019 Washburn N24 (Duncan Custom Shop PATB)

Comment