banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just bought a Gretsch --- FilterTrons, WTF???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just bought a Gretsch --- FilterTrons, WTF???

Ho there good people of the forum.

Yesterday I bought a nice Gretsch with some FilterTron pickups in it.

This:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140602_144412_567.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	5833184

It's a cool guitar. I'm a little confused by the pickups, though. They're just normal Gretsch FilterTrons, but nobody told me they were SO FREAKING HOT HOLY CRAP HIGH OUTPUT INSANE. I mean way hotter than anything else I even have. Is that normal?? I tried to adjust the pole pieces but they just turn and turn and don't go up or down. Is that normal too??

Help me out. I am a total Gretsch newb.
    -Adam

Hear or Follow my music:

Re: Just bought a Gretsch --- FilterTrons, WTF???

I think the standard Gretsch Filtertrons use ceramic magnets in them, that might have something to do with it. The TV Jones pickups use the original type with (I believe) Alnico magnets in them, and they should be less hot and more vintage sounding.

Al

Originally posted by sosomething View Post

This:
    [ATTACH=CONFIG]54683[/ATTACH]

It's a cool guitar. I'm a little confused by the pickups, though. They're just normal Gretsch FilterTrons, but nobody told me they were SO FREAKING HOT HOLY CRAP HIGH OUTPUT INSANE. I mean way hotter than anything else I even have. Is that normal?? I tried to adjust the pole pieces but they just turn and turn and don't go up or down. Is that normal too??

Comment

Wow! Beautiful axe.

(Wait a sec . . . can I call an F-hole an "axe"?)

Comment

I have that exact guitar and mine is not that hot, at least not 'high output insane' by any measure. It is in the range of my stock Les Paul and SG, however, so I presume it's not exactly vintage if that was the expectation.

Was it used? Is it possible the previous owner did some mods to the pickups?