Frustration on finding right PUPs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustration on finding right PUPs

Hey everybody! I have been playing for over 25 years and have owned over 100 different guitars through my life but I have never had the problem I'm having now. I recently purchased an ESP LTD Elite ST-1 Duncan and love the way it plays. It is truly the best playing guitar that I have ever owned. The problem is that it is the weakest sounding guitar that I have ever owned. It came with a Seymour Duncan Custom in the bridge and it sounded thinner than any single coil guitar that I have played so I decided to swap it out with a JB thinking that it would darken my tone as well as give me a little more output. I was wrong. I am probably being a bit harsh by calling the sound of both the Custom and the JB "thin" but it feels really weak while playing. I have a JB in my Jackson and it sings beautifully and I have a Charvel with Distortions in it and they rock so I know it isn't the pickups. The guitar is alder with a maple top and maple neck and fretboard which all lead to a bright tone, I get that, but I can't even get decent gain out of my 6505+ with this guitar and it is frustrating beyond belief. Suggestions?

Re: Frustration on finding right PUPs

I have not owned this one, but various reviews and owners comments across the web seem to use similar words to yours to describe the sound: thin, bright, slicing cut, metallic, which to me indicates a possibly ice-pick or thin sound. Reviews and comments on the rosewood/EMG version indicate a warmer fuller sound.

However if "thin" to you actually means something else like 'no volume or power', that sounds like something's wrong with the electronics. If you've changed the pickups with no difference, then it's not the pickups.

Comment

Originally posted by JoeyAsh View Post